Allo' Expat Montserrat - Connecting Expats in Montserrat
Main Homepage
Allo' Expat Montserrat Logo

Subscribe to Allo' Expat Newsletter
Check our Rates
   Information Center Montserrat
Montserrat General Information
History of Montserrat
Montserrat Culture
Montserrat Cuisine
Montserrat Geography
Montserrat Population
Montserrat Government
Montserrat Economy
Montserrat Communications
Montserrat Transportation
Montserrat Military
Montserrat Transnational Issues
Montserrat Healthcare
Montserrat People, Languages & Religions
Montserrat Expatriates Handbook
Montserrat and Foreign Government
Montserrat General Listings
Montserrat Useful Tips
Montserrat Education & Medical
Montserrat Travel & Tourism Info
Montserrat Lifestyle & Leisure
Montserrat Business Matters
  Sponsored Links

Check our Rates

Government in Montserrat


Montserrat is a parliamentary representative democratic dependency, whereby the Chief Minister is the head of government, and of a multi-party system. Montserrat is an internally self-governing overseas territory of the United Kingdom. The United Nations Committee on Decolonisation includes Montserrat on the United Nations list of Non-Self-Governing Territories.

Executive power is exercised by the government. The Governor is appointed by the monarch. The Premier is appointed by the Governor from among the members of the Legislative Council. On 13 October 2010, the Queen approved the Montserrat Constitution Order 2010, which replaces the office of Chief Minister with the office of Premier. The first Premier will be the Chief Minister in office on the date the Order comes into force, expected to be later this year. A Cabinet will replace the Executive Council and will likewise consist of the Premier, the Attorney General, the Financial Secretary, and three other ministers. One of the Cabinet members aside from the Premier must be appointed Deputy Premier to act as Premier when the latter office is vacant or when the Premier is absent from Montserrat.

Legislative power is vested in both the government and the Legislative Council. Montserrat elects on territorial level a legislature. The Legislative Council has nine members, elected for a five-year term in one constituency.

The judiciary is independent of the executive and the legislature. The Eastern Caribbean Supreme Court, consists of the High Court of Justice and the Court of Appeal; one judge of the Supreme Court is a resident of Montserrat.


Country name : conventional long form: none
conventional short form: Montserrat
Dependency status : overseas territory of the UK
Government type : NA

: name: Plymouth
geographic coordinates: 16 42 N, 62 13 W
time difference: UTC-4 (1 hour ahead of Washington, DC during Standard Time)
note: Plymouth was abandoned in 1997 because of volcanic activity; interim government buildings have been built at Brades Estate in the Carr's Bay/Little Bay vicinity at the northwest end of Montserrat
Administrative divisions : 3 parishes; St Anthony, St Georges, St Peter
Independence : none (overseas territory of the UK)
National holiday : Birthday of Queen ELIZABETH II, second Saturday in June (1926)
Constitution : Montserrat Constitution Order 2010, effective 1 September 2011
Legal system : English common law
Suffrage : 18 years of age; universal
Executive branch : chief of state: Queen ELIZABETH II (since 6 February 1952); represented by Governor Adrian DAVIS (since 8 April 2011)
head of government: Premier Rueben T. MEADE (since 27 September 2011); note - the office of premier came into effect with the new Constitution Order
cabinet: Executive Council consists of the governor, the premier, 3 other ministers, the attorney general, and the finance secretary
elections: the monarchy is hereditary; governor appointed by the monarch; following legislative elections, the leader of the majority party usually becomes premier
Legislative branch

: unicameral Legislative Council (11 seats; 9 members popularly elected to serve five-year terms; the attorney general and financial secretary sit as ex-officio members)
elections: last held on 8 September 2009 (next to be held by 2014)
election results: percent of vote by party - NA; seats by party - MCAP 6, independents 3
Judicial branch : Eastern Caribbean Supreme Court (based in St Lucia, one judge of the Supreme Court is a resident of the islands and presides over the High Court)
Political parties and leaders

: Montserrat Democratic Party or MDP [Lowell LEWIS]; Movement for Change and Prosperity or MCAP [Roselyn CASSELL-SEALY]; New People's Liberation Movement or NPLM [John A. OSBORNE]
Political pressure groups and leaders : NA
International organisation participation : Caricom, CDB, Interpol (sub-bureau), OECS, UPU
Diplomatic representation in the US : none (overseas territory of the UK)
Diplomatic representation from the US : none (overseas territory of the UK)
Flag description : blue, with the flag of the UK in the upper hoist-side quadrant and the Montserratian coat of arms centred in the outer half of the flag; the arms feature a woman in green dress, Erin, the female personification of Ireland, standing beside a yellow harp and embracing a large dark cross with her right arm; Erin and the harp are symbols of Ireland reflecting the territory's Irish ancestry; blue represents awareness, trustworthiness, determination and righteousness
National anthem : note: as a territory of the United Kingdom, "God Save the Queen" is official




copyrights ©
2015 | Policy